“Mission Offline”: There is indeed „life after smartphones“!

Like the proverbial “Tsunami”, digitization has swept over our lives. Over the last 10 years, the smartphone has established itself as the dominant internet access point worldwide and guarantees a virtually comprehensive and worldwide “always and everywhere” connection. In truth, the consequences for us and our children are incalculable.

Every bit of information, every contact, every publication, every distraction and tens of thousands of apps for anything and everything are available around the clock.

The stock markets are dominated by internet giants, software and hardware companies and they have every reason to make their products as seductive as possible. Our children end up running after the digital “pied piper” – their gazes fixed on this tiny screen.

Scientific research is about 3 to 4 years behind digital advancement, so there is hardly any valid data on the harmful effects on our physical and emotional health.

So we find ourselves in a world in which the mobile phone is central to our social existence, guarantees participation in the economy and in social interaction. An immensely powerful internet lobby has one-sidedly “blessed” us with the “gifts” of online life and continues to seduce us into more and more. Without thorough research and without state regulation we are exposed to the unchecked excesses of the digital age.

Take some Time Off!

Fortunately, we possess what is commonly known as “common sense”. Common sense is an intuitive feel for what is “beneficial” and for what is “destructive”, for what is “human and inhuman”, for the “healthy and unhealthy”. The problem is that our common sense can be numbed or even partially deactivated by constant inundation by digital media.

What we really need is a BREAK – one in which we break free from cell-phone intoxication and relax; one in which we consciously experience precisely those qualities that are overshadowed by digital life, qualities such as conversation, silence, community, and the awareness of nuances. Only then do we mutually corroborate our awareness and look for ways to take this wakefulness with us into our everyday lives.

What can specifically be done to use our smartphones and the internet in a consciously guarded way and not to be devoured by it? And what can specifically be done to inspire family and possibly even friends to follow suit?

This is what we offer in all our ROOTS Camp activities.

Declaration by Jürgen

I, Jürgen Schneider, would like to make one thing clear here: “I also live in this mobile phone world, surf the net, watch soaps and eat non-organic hamburgers. My favourite series is “House of Cards” and I read the newspaper online every day.

My partner sometimes has to drag me away from my computer and I drive the car a lot. I don’t go barefoot all year round. After all, I don’t live in a yurt and I am a committed “warm showerer” (what else?) I am not tougher, more ascetic or more enlightened than anyone else.

Even the ROOTS Camp is advertised on the Internet and can be booked online – I believe that we can’t turn back time in any case and that this modern life is our life.

The question I ask myself and you is simply: “Am I a user or am I a slave? Do I have choices and have I ever thought about it?”

Thoughtfully yours…

Our Offers

Family Camp
Feriencamp
Schule offline
Nomadisch Wandern

  • facebook-small

 

 

 

ROOTS Association

OFFICE:
Leopoldgasse 7
A-3424 Zeiselmauer

CAMP:
Stögersbach 15
A-2833 Bromberg

FON: +43 (676) 73 83 380
MAIL: office@rootscamp.at
ZVR: 092466100

Mission Offline: Es gibt Leben jenseits des “Empfangs”!

Wie der sprichwörtliche Zunami rollt die Digitalisierung über uns hinweg. In den letzten 10 Jahren hat sich das Smartphone weltweit als der dominante Internetzugang etabliert und garantiert ein quasi flächendeckendes - weltweites „Immer und Überall“. Die Folgen für uns und unsere Kinder sind in Wahrheit unabsehbar.

Jede Information, jeder Kontakt, jede Veröffentlichung, jede Ablenkung und zigtausende Apps für alles und jedes stehen rund um die Uhr zur Verfügung.

Die Börsen werden von Internetgiganten, Soft- und Hardware- Unternehmen dominiert und diese haben allen Grund Ihre Produkte so verführerisch wie nur möglich zu gestalten. Unsere Kinder laufen uns in Scharen davon und sammeln sich hinter den Rattenfängern – starren Blicks am kleinen Bildschirm fixiert.

Die Wissenschaft hinkt dieser Entwicklung in etwa 3-4 Jahre hinterher und so gibt es kaum valide Daten zu den schädlichen Nebenwirkungen auf unsere körperliche und seelische Gesundheit.

Da stehen wir also mitten in einer Welt, in der das Handy die soziale Existenz bedeutet, Teilnahme am wirtschaftlichen Kreislauf und am sozialen Leben garantiert. Einseitig von einer immens mächtigen Internetlobby mit ihren Segnungen „beschenkt“ und zu immer mehr und noch mehr verführt. Ohne aktuelle Grundlagenforschung und ohne staatliche Regulierungen dem wilden Treiben frei ausgesetzt.

 

Nehmen Sie eine Auszeit!

AUFM_Baumhängen

Glücklicherweise verfügen wir über etwas, dass gemeinhin „gesunder Menschenverstand“ genannt wird. Gemeint ist ein Bauchgefühl für „förderlich und hinderlich“ für „menschlich und unmenschlich“, für „gesund und ungesund“. Der Haken an der Sache ist aber der, dass dieser Menschenverstand durch konstante Überflutung lahmgelegt oder wenigstens zum Teil deaktiviert wird.

Was wir also brauchen ist eine Pause – und zwar eine in der wir einerseits aus dem Handyrausch erwachen und uns erholen, und andererseits jene Qualitäten wieder bewusst erleben, die vom Netz überlagert werden. Qualitäten wie das persönliche Gespräch, die Stille, gelebte Gemeinschaft, oder das Wahrnehmen von Nuancen. Dann bestätigen wir uns gegenseitig unsere Wahrnehmungen und suchen nach Möglichkeiten diesen Wachzustand ins Alltagsleben mitzunehmen.

Was kann konkret getan werden, um Smartphone und Internet bewusst gesteuert zu nutzen und nicht verschlungen zu werden. Und was kann konkret getan werden, um dies auch auf meine Familie und eventuell sogar auf meine Freunde auszuweiten.

Das ist es was wir im ROOTS Camp mit allen unseren Angeboten verbinden.

Angebote

 

Nomadisch Wandern
 

Clantage
 
Feriencamp
 
Schulprojekt: "OFFLINE"

 
 

Deklaration

Ich möchte hier gerne eines klar zum Ausdruck bringen: "Ich lebe genauso in dieser Handywelt, surfe im Netz, schau mir Soaps an und esse Anti Bio Leberkässemmel. Meine Lieblingsserie ist "House of Cards" und ich lese täglich online Zeitung.

Meine Lebensgefährtin muss mich manchmal vom Laptop wegzerren und ich fahre ziemlich viel mit dem Auto. Ich gehe auch nicht das ganze Jahr über barfuß. Schließlich lebe ich nicht in einer Jurte und bin ein überzeugter Warmduscher (was denn sonst) Ich bin nicht härter, asktischer oder erleuchteter als irgendwer sonst auch.

Das ROOTS Camp wird übers Internet beworben und ist online buchbar - ich glaube, dass wir die Zeit ohnehin nicht zurückdrehen können und das moderne Leben eben unser Leben ist.

Die Frage, die ich mir und euch stelle ist schlicht: "Bin ich Nutzer, oder bin ich Sklave? Hab ich eine Wahl und hab ich darüber schon nachgedacht?"

Nachdenklich, euer

Jürgen Schneider

Verein ROOTS

OFFICE:
Josef Karner Platz 1
A-3423 St. Andrä Wördern
(Die, Do, Fre 09:00 bis 13:00 Uhr)

CAMP:
Stögersbach 15
A-2833 Bromberg

FON: ++43 (0676) 73 83 380
MAIL: office@rootscamp.at
WEB: http://www.rootscamp.at
ZVR: 092466100

 

Anfrage

  • facebook-small